The 2021-2025 AEFLA Request for Applications is now CLOSED

NMHED would like to thank everyone who applied for this grant, as well as all those who devoted their time and expertise to the application and review process.

Congratulations to the 2021 AEFLA Awardees:

  1. Adult Education Program, Northern New Mexico College
  2. Albuquerque Adult Learning Center
  3. Catholic Charities Center for Educational Opportunity and Career Pathways
  4. Central New Mexico Community College
  5. Clovis Community College
  6. College and Career Readiness Program, Adult Learning Center at UNM‐Los Alamos
  7. Dine College
  8. Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell Adult Education
  9. Eastern New Mexico University-Ruidoso
  10. Gordon Bernell Community School
  11. Luna Community College: College & Career Readiness Institute
  12. Mesalands Community College
  13. New Mexico Corrections Department- Education Bureau
  14. New Mexico Junior College Adult Education
  15. New Mexico State University Carlsbad Adult Education
  16. New Mexico State University- Doña Ana Community College
  17. New Mexico State University-Alamogordo PACE Program
  18. New Mexico State University-Grants Adult Education
  19. Santa Fe Community College Adult Education
  20. Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute
  21. The Academic and Career Engagement (ACE) Center at San Juan College
  22. University of New Mexico-Gallup
  23. University of New Mexico-Taos
  24. University of New Mexico-Valencia
  25. Western New Mexico University Adult Education Services
  26. Youth Development, Inc. (YDI)


The New Mexico Higher Education Department (NMHED), Adult Education Division, announces a Request for Applications (RFA) to receive grants to support the operation of Adult Education and Family Literacy programs and to support Integrated English Literacy and Civics Education programs in New Mexico. Grants will be funded by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education (OCTAE) under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), Title II, and by the New Mexico State Legislature. Providers will deliver services in collaboration with WIOA Titles I, III, and IV partners.

Grants will be awarded for a four-year period: Fiscal years 2022-2025 (beginning on July 1, 2021, and ending on June 30, 2025). Continuation of funding through this four-year period is dependent upon availability of funds and adherence to grant requirements.

The purpose of this grant application is to fund programs that:

  1. Assist adults to become literate and obtain the knowledge and skills necessary for employment and economic self-sufficiency;
  2. Assist adults who are parents or family members to obtain the education and skills that—

        (A) Are necessary to becoming full partners in the educational development of their children; and

        (B) Lead to sustainable improvements in the economic opportunities for their family;

    3.  Assist adults in attaining a secondary school diploma and in the transition to postsecondary education and training, including through career pathways; and

    4.  Assist immigrants and other individuals who are English language learners in—

         (A) Improving their—

                (i) reading, writing, speaking, and comprehension skills in English; and

                (ii) mathematics skills; and

          (B) acquiring an understanding of the American system of Government, individual freedom, and the responsibilities of citizenship.