Capital Projects Overview


The New Mexico Higher Education Department (NMHED), through its Capital Projects Division, has a statutory responsibility to provide an equitable process for reviewing and recommending capital outlay funding for public post-secondary institutions each year. The NMHED Capital Outlay Committee, chaired by Dr. Gerald Burke and made up of representatives from the NMHED, Department of Finance and Administrations Capital Outlay Bureau, Legislative Finance Committee, and Energy and Minerals and Natural Resources Energy Conservation and Management Division, holds annual hearings throughout the state. Higher education institutions present their highest priority projects from their five-year capital plan to the committee.  The committee reviews and prioritizes all project requests, using the criteria established within NMAC 5.3.9 Capital Budgets – Planning and Funding Recommendations, and presents funding recommendations to the NMHED Cabinet Secretary for approval.

The Capital Projects Division also manages the day-to-day aspects of the higher education capital outlay program, which includes compliance with Executive Order 2013-006, Establishing Uniform Funding Criteria and Grant Management and Oversight Requirements for Grants of State Capital Outlay Appropriations by State Agencies and Other Entities,  and NMAC 5.3.10 Capital Projects Approval by the New Mexico Higher Education Department. In compliance with these requirements, NMHED establishes grant agreements between the Department and its grantees, monitors the grant agreement requirements, processes financial draws through the State Board of Finance, and organizes monthly Higher Education Capital Outlay Committee hearings where projects are reviewed and approved prior to construction.


Gerald Hoehne | Director                                                                               Joe Brown | Capital Analyst                            

Email   Phone                                                Email    Phone

ADDRESS: 2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505


  • Luis Campos, Committee Chair
  • Gerald Hoehne, New Mexico Higher Education Department, Director of Capital Projects and Interim Director of Institutional Finance, Member
  • Joe Brown, New Mexico Higher Education Department, Capital Projects Analyst, Member
  • Wesley Billingsley, Department of Finance and Administration Capital Outlay Bureau, Member
  • Harold Trujillo, Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department, Member
  • Cally Carswell, Legislative Finance Committee, Member