Higher Education Funding Formula Working Group

The New Mexico Higher Education Department has established a working group to evaluate the state’s higher education funding formula, which determines annual funding recommendations for state appropriations to the operational budgets of the state’s public colleges and universities. 

The current formula was established in 2016 and replaced the previous input-based formula with an outcomes-based formula that funds higher education institutions based on results. While small adjustments have been made to the formula since 2016, the current effort represents the first thorough reexamination of the formula since its inception.  

The New Mexico Higher Education Department and leaders will develop a report for the funding formula. Meetings will take place virtually and be recorded for the public to view. Input will be collected from stakeholders throughout the process.

Higher Education Funding Formula Working Group Membership
  • Stephanie Rodriguez, Cabinet Secretary, New Mexico Higher Education Department
  • Debbie Romero, Cabinet Secretary, New Mexico Department of Finance and Administration
  • David Abbey, Director, Legislative Finance Committee
  • Kathy Ulibarri, Executive Director, New Mexico Independent Community Colleges
  • Becky Rowley, President, Santa Fe Community College
  • Ty Trujillo, Executive Director, New Mexico Association of Community Colleges
  • Shawn Powell, President, Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell
  • Marc Saavedra, Executive President, New Mexico Council of University Presidents
  • Joseph Shepard, President, Western New Mexico University